Lanarkshire Steel Company Flag

The Lanarkshire Steel Works was established in Flemington in 1889 as Motherwell's second large steelworks.

At first the company made a wide range of steel products but after it was expanded during the First World War and then taken over by Colvilles it specialised in producing large items such as girders.

The works closed in 1978 as part of British Steel's rationalisation which involved phasing out steel production using the Siemens-Martin (or Open Hearth) method.

The flag was conserved in 2018 by the Scottish Conservation Studio with funding from Museums Galleries Scotland.

Museum reference:
COTSL-1992-122
Date:
1918 - 1939
On display:
In Storage: Museums
Associated with:
Lanarkshire Steel Co · Lanarkshire Steel Works, Motherwell, Scotland
Explore similar items