Lanarkshire Tramways No.53, 1908

This open-topped double-decker is the last surviving tram from the relatively short-lived Lanarkshire Tramways which connected Motherwell, Wishaw and Hamilton between 1903 and 1931.

The body of this tramcar was discovered by preservationists on a farm near Beith where it was being used as a hay store. The car was taken to Summerlee Museum in Coatbridge and restored to its orginal state as an open-deck car as the upper deck added in the 1920s had not survived.

Museum reference:
COTSL-1995-27
Date:
1908
On display:
In Storage: Museums
Associated with:
1908 - 1931 · Lanarkshire Tramways Co · Motherwell, Scotland
Explore similar items