Dalziel Poorhouse Key, 1905

Ceremonial key to commemorate the opening of Dalziel Poorhouse in Motherwell. It was opened by Lord Hamilton of Dalzell and was the last poorhouse to be built under the 1845 Poor Law Scotland Act. It held 117 inmates and the buildings included an infirmary, workshops and children's accommodation.

Museum reference:
1996-499
Date:
1905
On display:
Summerlee Museum: Exhibition Hall
Dimensions:
height: 170mm
width: 84mm
depth: 17mm
Materials:
Metal
Explore similar items